First thoughts on the new Sherlock Holmes films.

I have finally got around to watching the first of the Sherlock Holmes films with Robert Downey Jr. and Jude Law as Holmes and Watson and I have to confess to being a little disappointed in several key areas. As is often the case with modern films, I think there can be a tendency to substitute violent action and special effects in place of intellectual content and deductive reasoning, which were the hallmarks of the Conan Doyle stories, the earlier Basil Rathbone films and the Jeremy Brett T.V. series. Another quibble I have with the film is the casting. To my mind Jude Law was excellent, but Downey did not ring true. Apart from his diminutive stature, much of the time I found his attempted crisp, staccato speech to be unintelligable. No doubt I will be accused of being somewhat pedantic by some people, but I make no apologies for being a traditionalist and offer in my defence the fact that I have enjoyed watching the new Holmes series on TV with Cumberbatch and Freeman as Holmes and Watson.

Leave a Reply

